Everything We Do Matters

Everything we do matters

I’ll let you in on a secret: everything we do, matters.  The special thing God called you to do and even the everyday things. It all matters, because that thing? That might be The Thing that lifts up someone else. 

 It isn’t a new idea. But it’s been rattling around in my head since the beginning of the year. 

This not-so-new idea became clear to me on a day I was ready to give up on my “God called thing.”

If I were to describe myself that day as a character, it would be the pessimistic donkey Eeyore in Winnie the Pooh.

I Walked around my kitchen in a downcast mood uttering his famous line. “It doesn’t matter anyway.”

Before I tell you how my thinking process changed, let me share how I got there in the first place.

It’s all about the numbers. 

If you’ve done anything on the internet, you can get sucked into stats. And I did.  

My numbers? They don’t register on any scale. They’re minuscule. Why bother?  And some might suggest that I’m wasting my time. 

But my perspective changed. With one word!

I was ready to give up one minute, and the next? Heck, I couldn’t wait to get back and do what I love to do.  

So, are you’re sitting on the edge of your seat right now? Are you asking, what this magical word is?

I thought so ! 🙂

quilting project

Just finding us? Why not join the Scrappy Mystery Quilt Adventure today? You’ll receive your getting started guide, followed by block one on the first day. The remaining blocks and assembly directions will follow a few days apart. It’s 100% Free.

The word? Persevere.

That word encouraged me to, well, persevere (go figure) to keep working on the project I felt God has called me to do.

And I hear you asking, what does that have to do with, “everything we do matters?”

It’s when it clicked.

The “word” was part of a devotional I receive from Christine Caine.

And I thought, what if?

What if Christine Caine didn’t follow God’s prompting to create and publish “FIrst Things First?”

You see, I believe it was all planned. God knew I’d need encouragement to do what He has called me to do. “Weave Fabric with Faith.”

Coincidence?

The thing is, as much as I was encouraged that day, I still doubted. This morning I found myself in a similar place. Ready to give up.

But once again, I was encouraged by Christine’s Devotional.

“Undoubtedly, the enemy of our souls would love to keep our lives limited and the church small. But God has called us to be great, and because the same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead is living in us, we can do all that God has called us to do and be who He has made us to be!”

Christine Caine, First Things First Devotional, March 1, 2022

And that’s why everything we do does matter.

The enemy will attack, finding subtle ways to make us feel like giving up on those God things we’re doing.  

But if we give up, others might lose out on something special.  

And those numbers and stats? They only tell a part of the story.

It’s what you do. If you reach one person with encouragement or kindness, it can make all the difference in the world.

Keep doing what you’re doing for yourself and for others! But mostly, keep doing what God has called you to do.

Until next time, enjoy your day and the journey

Adele

Published by Adele

Writer, Pianist, Quilter Weaving Fabric With Faith.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started